Thread: delaying the ultimate break up

delaying the ultimate break up

I am a young graduating college student but this "relationship" that I am in goes way back my highschool years. It all started senior year of highschool. We flirted, went to every HS dance, spent our summer as if it was the last. Then fall comes and we physically separate for college in september of 2003. He's in Dallas, I'm in Los Angeles. We tried to work out the long distance relationship but it only lasted for a year. I cheated on him, I wont deny that after just 3 months of our long distance relationship, but he forgave me and took me back. On christmas break of 2004, he ended our relationship for the reason that he wanted to date other girls, and experience the college life. I was devasted, heartbroken to the point of depression.

But during these times we never lose communication. When I needed him for comfort, he was there, and I was there for him We feel that bond, that ultimate emotional, passionate bond when we talk on the phone. He visits me almost every quarter and we meet back home in Vegas during holidays. Those few days that we see each other are always memorable even though we are no longer a couple. On the days that we are physically together, we both feel that we are still "a couple," and would do things that normal "couples" do. But once we separate, It's "out of sight, out of mind." Ignorance is bliss, therefore we never talked about our dating life outside of our " seasonal relationship."

We have been "seasonal partners" for about 3 years now and our weekend mini vacations are one of the best times in my college life. Back in HS before we went to college, we had always talked about getting back together and living in the same city after college. We both know how much we love each other and care for each other. There is no denying how we feel, and he always tells me that if we are both in the same city, he would take me as his girlfriend. But the distance hinders such.